Call Upon the Water – audiobook download

Home Forums Shop Talk Call Upon the Water – audiobook download

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #2202 Reply
    Joel Schultz
    Guest

    Call Upon the Water
    by Stella Tillyard

    Call Upon the Water – CLICK HERE

    • Genres: fiction, historical, adult
    • Format: hardcover, 288 pages
    • Release date: September 17, 2019
    • Author: Stella Tillyard
    • Publisher: Atria Books
    • Language: english
    • ISBN: 9781982120962 (1982120967)

    About The Book

    Spanning several decades in seventeenth century Great Britain and America, this “impressive piece of work, rich in historical detail and human insight” (The Sunday Times) is an unforgettable love story exploring the power of nature versus man and man versus woman.

    I am an engineer and a measured man of the world. I prefer to weigh everything in the balance, to calculate and to plan. Yet my own heart is going faster than I can now count.

    In 1649, Jan Brunt arrives in Great Britain from the Netherlands to work on draining and developing an expanse of marshy wetlands known as the Great Level. It is here in this wild country that he meets Eliza, a local woman whose love overturns his ordered vision. Determined to help her strive beyond her situation, Jan is heedless of her devotion to her home and way of life. When she uses the education Jan has given her to sabotage his work, Eliza is brutally punished, and Jan flees to the New World.

    In the American colonies, profiteers on Manatus Eyland are hungry for viable land to develop, and Jan’s skills as an engineer are highly prized. His prosperous new life is rattled, however, on a spring morning when a boy delivers a note that prompts him to remember the Great Level, and confront all that was lost there. Eliza has made it to the New World and is once again using the education Jan gave her to bend the landscape — this time to find her own place of freedom.

    A “story of passion, possession, and a painful education in love” (Sarah Dunant, author of In the Name of the Family), The Great Level is an adventure, an unusual and intelligent love story, and a powerful comment on the relationship between humans and the environment. “Richly involving… rousing and heroic” (The Guardian), this unforgettable historical novel is perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel, Geraldine Brooks, and Philippa Gregory.

    Online ebook Call Upon the Water by Stella Tillyard download for PocketBook on Dymocks. TXT Call Upon the Water. FictionBook book Call Upon the Water Stella Tillyard read on iPad on Bookshop.

    MOBI Call Upon the Water buy. EPUB book Call Upon the Water Stella Tillyard read online on Audible. Paperback ebook Call Upon the Water buy cheap iPhone.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
Reply To: Call Upon the Water – audiobook download
Your information: